3 Step Elevator Pitch

8 08 2013

Have you ever stumbled over the answer to; and what do you do?

The following exercise will help you develop your very own “ elevator” pitch.

A simple, short bit you can memorize and spit out on the fly.

I’m assuming you know your own name!

1. Who you are?   GOOD

  • Hi, I’m Alice, Steve, Donna, Paul, Dave, Lance.

2. What do you do?  BETTER

  • A recent grad = Hi, I’m Alice, I just finished Design at Sheridan.
  • Employed = Hi, I’m Steve I’m with HR over at Acme Inc.
  • Unemployed = Hi, I’m Donna, I’m in between contracts.
  • Stay at home dad = Hi, I’m Paul, I’m home with my two kids.
  • Business owner = Hi, I’m Dave, I own the shoe store on Main.
  • Renaissance man = Hi, I’m Lance, I’m a horse whisperer from Hollywood.

 3. What do you want?  BEST

  • Hi, I’m Alice, I just finished Design at Sheridan, I’m looking for something in that area, would you know of anything?
  • Hi, I’m Alice, I just graduated from U of T ( if you’re looking in a different field don’t specify ), I do kick ass web designs. Have any leads? ( haha)
  • Hi, I’m Steve, I’m with HR over at Acme but I’m going for my CPA, if you hear of anything let me know.
  • Hi, I’m Donna, I’m in between contracts but I do Social Media for small business, if you know anyone who’s in the market, throw them my name!
  • Hi, I’m Paul, I’m home with my kids, I started a blog about cheap home renos, you should check it out!
  • Hi, I’m Dave, I own the shoe store on Main, we have new stock in, you should come by.
  • Hi, I’m Lance, I’m a horse whisperer from Hollywood but I really want to work with rabbits. Any rabbit connections? (haha)

You get the idea. People like to help out, so ask. You Never know.


Actions

Information

Leave a comment